Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For both Sherlock and any of the databases you might search, there are ways you can construct your searches to get more specific results:
- desire AND self -- Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document.
- self OR identity -- Use OR if only one word must appear in a document.
- silk stockings NOT play -- Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search
- individual* -- Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings. For example, individual, individuals, individuality, etc.
- "Montage of a dream deferred" -- Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
Finding books & articles
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus is a bibliographic resource covering the foremost academic and popular film journals up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
America: History and Life
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada (1955-)
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
Using Library Guides
Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |