LibGuides: GENS 176: The Social Gaze (Santana-Acuna): Finding Books and Articles

Search Strategies

For both Sherlock and any of the databases you might search, there are ways you can construct your searches to get more specific results:

algorithms AND bias -- Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document.
morals OR ethics -- Use OR if only one word must appear in a document.
algorithm NOT mathematical -- Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search
algorithm* -- Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings. For example, algorithm, algorithms, algorithmic, etc.
"algorithmic bias" -- Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.

Finding books & articles

Sherlock This link opens in a new window
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.

Databases

Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital searchable database containing the past, present and future AAA publications
EconLIT This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
offers coverage in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada (1955-)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, bibliographies, tests and evaluations from professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines 1887-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.

Using Library Guides

Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major.
Subject Guide - Anthropology
Subject Guide - Economics
Subject Guide - Environmental Studies
Subject Guide - History
Subject Guide - Politics
Subject Guide - Psychology
Subject Guides - Sociology