Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For both Sherlock and any of the databases you might search, there are ways you can construct your searches to get more specific results:
- Supermarkets AND Europe -- Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document.
- Netherlands OR Germany -- Use OR if only one word must appear in a document.
- Netherlands NOT Germany -- Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search
- pasteur* -- Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings. For example, Pasteur, pasteurisation, pasteurization, etc.
- "Common Agricultural Policy" -- Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
If you already have a citation (like from a bibliography or "works cited" page) then follow this link to see if Whitman has access to either the journal or the article you're looking for.
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
offers coverage in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
America: History and Life
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada (1955-)
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (1955- )
Provides a comprehensive synthesis of the research literature for a broad spectrum of disciplines.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Use Worldcat or Sherlock to find books and articles that are not in Summit or at Penrose. Fill out an ILL request and if we are able to find a library that will lend it we will have it in around a week. It can take up to six weeks, especially internationally, so don't leave it for the last minute.
Additional Library Guides
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |