Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Keyword Searches
language AND translation
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document. This *narrows* your search.
bilingual OR multilingual
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document. This *broadens* your search.
Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings, for example, translation, translator, translating, etc.
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
Babel NOT Isaac
Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search. (If you're looking for articles on the Tower of Babel, you don't want articles on the author Isaac Babel.)
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Find More Articles
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Arts & Humanities Full Text
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
Search leading scholarly literature in the sciences from 1955- .
Provides a comprehensive synthesis of the research literature for a broad spectrum of disciplines.
Educational Research Information Clearinghouse (ERIC)
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature.
Using Library Guides
Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |