LibGuides: GENS 176: Imagining the Future (Patia): Find Books and Articles

Basic Keyword Searches

language AND translation
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document. This *narrows* your search.
"history of ideas" OR "history of knowledge"
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document. This *broadens* your search.
romantic*
Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings, for example, romantic, romantics, romanticism, etc.
"chaos theory"
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
hermitage NOT museum
Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search. (If you're looking for articles on a hermitage in a landscape garden, you don't want articles on the Hermitage museum in St Petersburg.)

Finding Books Spring 2021

Penrose Library Catalog

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Summit and physical Interlibrary Loan lending may not be as extensive or as quick as usual. Some options for digital access to books or book chapters have been integrated into Sherlock (connections to the HathiTrust digital library, and options to request book chapter PDFs). Another option is to look in the Internet Archive National Emergency Library.

Internet Archive National Emergency Library
You will need to create an individual account for the Internet Archive National Emergency Library (it does not integrate with the Whitman sign-on). Be sure to use a different password! This is a free service.

Find Books and Articles

Sherlock
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.

Find More Articles

Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection
- This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
- This link opens in a new window
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project MUSE
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (1955- )
Arts & Humanities Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

Using Library Guides

Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major.