Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Keyword Searches
migration AND "economic development"
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document. This *narrows* your search.
"climate change" OR "global warming"
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document. This *broadens* your search.
Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings, for example, migration, migrant, migratory, etc.
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
STEM NOT cell*
Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search. (If you're looking for articles on STEM [science, technology, engineering, mathematics] fields or education, you probably don't want articles on stem cells.)
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Find More Articles
Links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
Provides a comprehensive synthesis of the research literature for a broad spectrum of disciplines.
Using Library Guides
Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major.
RePEc - Research Papers in Economics
IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and is available freely on the Internet. It includes working papers as well as published articles and books.
RePEc/IDEAS Economics Research Rankings
Find the top-rated journals, papers and articles, books, and authors. Rankings are based on citation analysis and numbers of view and downloads.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |