Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Keyword Searches
emotions AND identity AND adolescence
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document. This *narrows* your search.
child OR adolescent
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document. This *broadens* your search.
Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings, for example, child, children, childhood, etc.
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Find More Articles
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
Using Library Guides
Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |