Skip to Main Content

GENS175 (Nicolaysen) : Home

Welcome!

This guide will help you with the research you will need to do for your final paper. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to email me, set up an appointment, or drop by my office in the library (215 by the public computers).

Basic Keyword Searches

For both Sherlock and databases, there are ways you can construct your searches to get more specific results:

Hanford AND Richland -- Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document.
Manhattan Project OR Hanford Project -- Use OR if only one word must appear in a document.
denuclear* -- Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings. For example, denuclearize, denuclearization, etc.
"Hanford Site" -- Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.

Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, bibliographies, tests and evaluations from professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines 1887-

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

215 Penrose Library

509-527-5918

Subjects: Art, Gender Studies, History, Library, Theatre and Dance

Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

222 Penrose Library
scolesb@whitman.edu

(509) 527-5917

© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |