Home - Subject Guide - Indigeneity, Race, and Ethnicity Studies

Welcome

Welcome to the Indigeneity, Race, and Ethnicity Studies Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Find Articles

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of peer-reviewed articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada
Art, Design, and Architecture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive survey of publications in the fields of visual and applied arts (coverage from 1976 - current).
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic and popular titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete Black Panther Newspaper as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other material.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Citations for scholarly works on Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States (in English, Spanish, and Portuguese).
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (publications starting in 1955).
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International academic literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy.

AllAfrica This link opens in a new window
African news and information (1997- )
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis. Full text access to news, business, and legal sources, including federal and state court cases from 1790-present.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text, next-day access to New York Times, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal, as well as many other national and regional newspapers.

African Newspapers, 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Papers are in English and other languages.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the Seattle Times (1923-1984), The Oregonian (1923-1987), "African-American Newspapers 1827-1998", and "Hispanic-American Newspapers 1808-1980"
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspapers from all over the country, predominitely covering 1860-1922 with titles from 1777-1963.
Washington Digital Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Titles and coverage varies, primarily late 19th century.
Los Angeles Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1881-1996)
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1851-2016)
South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
More than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995

Full Text Historical Magazines

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published from the 1680s to the 1930s (fully keyword searchable).
Economist: Historical Archive, 1843–2020 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020. Search "The Economist" in Sherlock to access the most recent issue.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of 19th century British magazines.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-image journal articles of backfiles for periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
Popular Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Titles include Time, Life, Sports Illustrated, US News & World Report, and The Nation.
Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
American magazine articles published between 1890 and 1982 (citations only).
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2014 This link opens in a new window
Women's Magazine Archive Collection This link opens in a new window
Full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines.

Find Media Collections

Aluka (Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from archives and libraries around the world related to the dismantling of the Apartheid regime and Liberation of Southern Africa.
Black Film Archive This link opens in a new window
An evolving archive dedicated to making historically and culturally significant films made from 1898 to 1989 about Black people accessible through a streaming guide with cultural context.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
News sources from early 18th century to the early 21st documenting the experience and impact of African Americans.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources covering the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the 17th through the 20th centuries. Purchase of this resource was made possible thanks to a gift in memory of John Makey, '56.
Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project This link opens in a new window
The vital history of Seattle's civil rights movements to life with scores of video oral histories, hundreds of rare photographs, documents, movement histories, and personal biographies.

Find Reference Works

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources giving comprehensive overviews of topics from a wide range of subject areas.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Reference source for all topics relating to Islam; only 2nd & 3rd edition online.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Provides a comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, and much more.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and downloadable edition of the standard source for facts about American history. Allows customized tables and spreadsheets.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window