Skip to Main Content
Full Text Historical Magazines
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published from the 1680s to the 1930s (fully keyword searchable).
Economist: Historical Archive, 1843–2020 This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020. Search "The Economist" in Sherlock to access the most recent issue.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of 19th century British magazines.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-image journal articles of backfiles for periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
Popular Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Titles include Time, Life, Sports Illustrated, US News & World Report, and The Nation.
Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
American magazine articles published between 1890 and 1982 (citations only).
Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
Digitized catalogues, pamphlets, trade cards, and other marketing materials originally directed toward the American consumer, documenting the history of advertising, consumer culture, material culture, household economics, and fashion in the United States.
Women's Magazine Archive Collection This link opens in a new window
Full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines.
Digital Books and Magazines
In addition to digital text collections, there are also collections of music and video and the Wayback Machine to find archived versions of web pages.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books and journals scanned by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. Log in to access the largest number of volumes and features.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |