Skip to main content
Find Reference Works
Covering today's most important issues and controversial subjects, CQ Researcher has been the choice of students and librarians for over 80 years. Each weekly issue—written by an experienced CQ Press reporter—is an in-depth, single topic report featuring more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies.
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos.
Encyclopaedia of Islam
Encyclopaedia of Islam Online (EI Online) consists of both the second edition (“EI2”) AND the third edition (“EI3”).
EI3 is a work in progress, publication of which started in 2007. The search engine for EI Online automatically searches all editions (EI1, EI2, EI3 and EI-French) and offers the most recent results first in the list of hits.
Encyclopedia of Genocide & Crimes Against Humanity
Explains the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large, including events, perpetrators and heroes, and international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity.
Encyclopedia of Population
Provides coverage of demographic topics both in the core field and in neighboring disciplines. Encompasses the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Provides a comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, and much more.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context; allows users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets (1774- census 2000).
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web
The Indigo Book
An Open and Compatible Implementation of
A Uniform System of Citation. The Indigo Book was compiled by a team of students at the New York University School of Law, working under the direction of Professor Christopher Jon Sprigman. The Indigo Book isn’t the same as The Bluebook, but it does implement the same Uniform System of Citation that The Bluebook does. The scope of The Indigo Book’s coverage is roughly equivalent to The Bluebook’s “Bluepages”—that is, The Indigo Book covers legal citation for U.S. legal materials, as well as books, periodicals, and Internet and other electronic resources. For the materials that it covers, anyone using The Indigo Book will produce briefs, memoranda, law review articles, and other legal documents with citations that are compatible with the Uniform System of Citation.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |