Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Reference Works
Banque de dépannage linguistique
The Banque de dépannage linguistique is a constantly evolving pedagogical tool that provides clear answers to frequent questions about spelling, grammar, syntax, punctuation, vocabulary, typography, signs, abbreviations and symbols, proper names, pronunciation, and writing and communication. It deals with general language questions rather than specific terminology (see the Grand Dictionnaire terminologique).
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
See the following volumes for literature in French: 65 French Novelists 1900-1930; 72 -- French Novelists 1930-1960; 83 -- French Novelists since 1960; 119 -- 19th Century French Fiction Writers 1800-1960; 123 -- 19th Century French Fiction Writers 1860-1900; 117, 125, 157 -- 20th Century Caribbean and Black African Writers; 192 -- French Dramatists 1789-1914; 258 -- Modern French Poets. Additional French authors are represented in further volumes online.
Dictionnaire historique et critique de Pierre Bayle (17th century)
Originally conceived as a response to the errors in Louis Moréri's Grand dictionnaire historique, Pierre Bayle's Dictionnaire grew to be an exemplary work of critical methodology. The ARTFL Project offers here a facsimile version of the 1740 edition.
Simultaneously query Jean Nicot's Thresor de la langue française (1606), Jean-François Féraud's Dictionaire critique de la langue française (Marseille, Mossy 1787-1788), Émile Littré's Dictionnaire de la langue française (1872-1877) and the Dictionnaire de L'Académie française 1st (1694), 4th (1762), 5th (1798), 6th (1835), and 8th (1932-5) editions.
Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers (18th century)
Published under the direction of Diderot and d'Alembert, the Encyclopédie was a massive reference work for the arts and sciences, as well as a machine de guerre which served to propagate the ideas of the French Enlightenment.
Grand dictionnaire terminologique
The GDT is an online terminological database containing nearly 3 million French, English and Latin technical terms in 200 industrial, scientific and commercial fields.
Trésor de la Langue Française
Etymological and historical dictionary of the French language
Translate words or webpages for English, Esperanto, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, and Spanish. Site includes conjugation and grammar references plus country and travel information.
Dictionary, encyclopedia, and other resources
UXL Graphic Novelists
U*X*L's Graphic Novelists introduces researchers to the authors and illustrators behind these works, taking care to define and explore the distinction between comic books and graphic novels.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |