Home - Subject Guide - French - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the French Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic and popular titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books and journals in all disciplines.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books and journals scanned by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. Log in to access the largest number of volumes and features.

Internet Archive
Includes digitizations of millions of digitized texts. (Less well-organized than HathiTrust.)

Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Primary sources like maps, photographs, letters, diaries, newspapers, audio of personal accounts of events, sound recordings & historic films.
Making of America This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections from libraries, archives, and museums around the country. Find primary sources in the forms of images, documents, film, sound recording, and other mediums.

ARTFL This link opens in a new window
Collection of classical French writings including literary and political works, focusing on 18th-20th century, with some coverage of 17th century, medieval, and Renaissance texts.
Bibliothèque nationale de France This link opens in a new window
Gallica and Europeana digital libraries as well as the catalog of the National Library of France, the Union Catalog of France, and other resources.
Joconde: Catalogue des collections des musees de France This link opens in a new window
Digitized museum collections of France

Digital Library of the Caribbean
This site provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis. Full text access to news, business, and legal sources, including federal and state court cases from 1790-present.

Guide Presse -- Annuaire francophone de la presse en ligne
This site links to lists of French national and regional newspapers, magazines, and popular and business-related periodicals.

Banque de dépannage linguistique
The Banque de dépannage linguistique is a constantly evolving pedagogical tool that provides clear answers to frequent questions about spelling, grammar, syntax, punctuation, vocabulary, typography, signs, abbreviations and symbols, proper names, pronunciation, and writing and communication. It deals with general language questions rather than specific terminology (see the Grand Dictionnaire terminologique).

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Dictionnaire historique et critique de Pierre Bayle (17th century) This link opens in a new window
Facsimile of 1740 edition.
Dictionnaires d'autrefois This link opens in a new window
Search across seven different French dictionaries published from 1606 to 1935.
Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers (18th century) This link opens in a new window
Grand dictionnaire terminologique This link opens in a new window
An online terminological database containing nearly 3 million French, English and Latin technical terms in 200 industrial, scientific and commercial fields.
Trésor de la Langue Française This link opens in a new window
Etymological and historical dictionary of the French language
Ultralingua Larousse This link opens in a new window
Dictionary, encyclopedia, and other resources
UXL Graphic Novelists This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of graphic novel authors and illustrators.