Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Reference Works
Brill's New Pauly
A Reallexikon or encyclopaedia of the ancient world. It is intended as an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history.
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete provides information on more than 12,000 authors from many time periods and from all parts of the world. This resource provides access to all volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography series (more than 360 vols.), the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series (19 vols.) and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook (23 vols.), totaling more than 400 volumes and 185,000 pages.
Loeb Classical Library
Provides access to the works of classical authors in an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available.
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
Covers the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe, includes coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance
This reference work covers ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance around the globe.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |