Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Historical Newspapers
Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available in a user-friendly online environment.
African Newspapers, 1800-1922
More than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
America's Historical Newspapers
This collection includes the Seattle Times (1923-1984), The Oregonian (1923-1987), "African-American Newspapers 1827-1998", and "Hispanic-American Newspapers 1808-1980"
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
A project of the Library of Congress, titles vary, covers the period 1860-1922.
Historical Newspapers of Washington
Titles and coverage varies, primarily late 19th century.
South Asian Newspapers
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2014
Full-image online archive of every page published by the Times of London from 1785-2014.
Times of India (Historical)
Easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events from 1838-2010.
Find Current Newspapers
Access World News
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
African news and information (1997- )
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes full-text, next-day access to New York Times, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |