Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Reference Works
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete provides information on more than 12,000 authors from many time periods and from all parts of the world. This resource provides access to all volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography series (more than 360 vols.), the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series (19 vols.) and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook (23 vols.), totaling more than 400 volumes and 185,000 pages.
Dictionary of the Scots Language
The DSL brings together the two major historical dictionaries of the Scots language: A Dictionary of the Older Scottish Tongue (DOST) (covering the 12th century - 1700) and The Scottish National Dictionary (SND) (1700 - 2005)
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
Index to items published in English between 1473 and 1800 in Britain and North America
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond.
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
Covers the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe, includes coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
Middle English Compendium
Contains a Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse
UXL Graphic Novelists
U*X*L's Graphic Novelists introduces researchers to the authors and illustrators behind these works, taking care to define and explore the distinction between comic books and graphic novels.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |