Find Digital Collections

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources (monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera) covering 1639-1900.
American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera from 1760-1900
British Literary Manuscripts Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facsimile images of literary manuscripts. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
18th century English-language publications in the humanities, arts, and sciences.

The Book of Common Prayer
The Book of Common Prayer is one of the major works of English literature. Since its introduction in the mid-1500's it has exerted enormous influence on the religious and literary lives of all who speak the English language
The Books of Homilies
The Books of Homilies are authorized sermons issued in two books for use in the Church of England during the reigns of Edward VI and Elizabeth I. They were to provide for the Church a new model of simplified topical preaching as well as a theological understanding of the Reformation that had taken place in England.
Early Stuart Libels
A web-based edition of early seventeenth-century political poetry from manuscript sources.
English Broadside Ballad Archive
Broadside ballads of the seventeenth century fully accessible as texts, art, music, and cultural records
Emblematica Online
Emblems are concise yet potent combinations of texts and images that invite, and require, decoding. In a concise format, they reveal the mentalities and attitudes of the period from c. 1500-1800 in an assemblage of texts and images.
The John Milton Reading Room
The John Milton Reading Room: the complete poetry and selected prose of John Milton, with introductions, research guides, and hyperlinked annotations.
Medieval Manuscripts on the Web
Intended to offer quick access to various digitization projects on the web: clicking the project title will take you directly there. Listings are alphabetical by country, then city, and then by originating institution. Some cooperative projects are to be found at the relevant top level; so, a consortium of American libraries will appear as the first entry under the United States, for example.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Primary sources including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Collections include Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Childrens Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; Corvey Collection of European Literature, 1790-1840; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography; Religion, Society, Spirituality and Reform; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; Women: Transitional Networks.
Parker Library on the Web This link opens in a new window
A web-based workspace designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge
State Papers Online This link opens in a new window
17th century British State Papers linked to their full text-searchable calendars. Our subscriptions include Part III: The Stuarts: James I to Anne, 1603-1714, State Papers Domestic, and Part IV: The Stuarts: James to Anne, 1603 – 1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland; and Registers of the Privy Council.
Women Working This link opens in a new window
Historical, manuscript, and image resources that explore women's roles in the US economy from the Open Collections Program, Harvard University 1870-1930
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized texts by pre-Victorian women writers

Subject Guide - English: Find Digital Collections

Find Digital Collections