Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Overview of Federal Documents
Federal documents consist of the publications produced by the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. For further information on finding and using U.S. federal government documents, see this extensive guide at the University of Washington. You can search for federal documents online using govinfo or the Catalog of US Government Publications. Documents in the Basic Collection below are those that every selective depository library must make available; additional foundational documents of the U.S. government may be found here.
Basic Collection documents online or in Penrose Library
Contains a multitude of statistical data from the US census and community surveys including population, housing, geographic and economic data.
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government is designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government.
Budget of the U.S. Government
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
In Penrose: Federal Docs -1st Floor (PREX 2.8: )
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
CFDA contains detailed program descriptions for 2,317 Federal assistance programs.
In Penrose: Reference Collection - 2nd Floor (HC110.P63 U53a )
Census of Population and Housing (Decennial)
In Penrose: Federal Docs -1st Floor Call numbers beginning with C 3. 223, HA201, and others
Code of Federal Regulations
The codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
The official directory of the U.S. Congress, containing short biographies, committee memberships, lists of officials in U.S. courts and agencies.
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session.
This monthly publication provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
In Penrose: Journals - 1st Floor
Economic Report of the President
An annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
In Penrose: Reference and 3rd Floor (HC106.5)
The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
In Penrose: Microform Docs - 1st Floor (AE 2.106 : / )
Occupational Outlook Handbook
A guide to career information from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
In Penrose: Recent print editions are in Reference and on the 3rd floor. (HF 5381.A1 O2)
Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.
Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature.
In Penrose: Reference Collection - 2nd Floor (J80 .A283 )
United States Code
The codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
In Penrose: Reference Collection - 2nd Floor (KF62 2000 )
United States Government Manual
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.
In Penrose: Federal Docs -1st Floor (JK421 .A3 ); Federal Docs -1st Floor (AE 2. 108/2:)
United States Reports
Supreme Court opinions
In Penrose: Federal Docs -1st Floor (JU 6.8: )
United States Statutes at Large
The permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress.
In Penrose: Federal Docs -1st Floor (AE 2 .111)
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |