Primary Sources - Subject Guide - Japanese - LibGuides at Whitman College

Newspapers

Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection
Full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America (in English and Japanese).
Nikkei Newspapers Digital Archive
2 Seattle-based Japanese-American newspapers from 1902-1950 mostly in Japanese but with some translated front pages.

Both of these links are photo databases for major Japanese newspapers. You will have to search in Japanese.

Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online, this collection features a range of primary source collections related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century.
e-Asia Digital Library
East Asia Image Collection

Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections from libraries, archives, and museums around the country. Find primary sources in the forms of images, documents, film, sound recording, and other mediums.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Primary sources like maps, photographs, letters, diaries, newspapers, audio of personal accounts of events, sound recordings & historic films.

Kobe Unversity Library Clippings
Digital images of newspaper clippings. Japanese-only searchable database contains Japanese full-text of the articles as well as images, but available newspaper articles are limited to the pre-1945 period.
National Diet Library
English interface for National Diet Library, keyword searches will need to be in Japanese and results will be in Japanese.
Reports of (Natural Disasters of) the Ansei Period
Waseda University Library
English interface for Waseda University Library, keyword searches will need to be in Japanese and results will be in Japanese.