Find Books and Articles

Sherlock This link opens in a new window
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.

Find More Articles

Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic and popular titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books and journals in all disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International academic literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Standard biographical dictionary for British people in all fields [limited to one user at a time].
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The foremost scholarly world art encyclopedia.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies of composers and performers and coverage of all types of music, from earliest times to the 21st century.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Reference work that includes encyclopedia entries and peer-reviewed articles in philosophy and related disciplines.

Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major.

Subject Guide - Anthropology
by Emily Pearson Last Updated Oct 30, 2024 135 views this year
Subject Guide - French
by Amy Blau Last Updated Sep 3, 2024 26 views this year
Subject Guide - German Studies
by Amy Blau Last Updated Sep 12, 2024 63 views this year
Subject Guide - Hispanic Studies
by Amy Blau Last Updated Sep 3, 2024 27 views this year
Subject Guide - Indigeneity, Race, and Ethnicity Studies
by Bridget Scoles Last Updated Oct 10, 2024 57 views this year

How to Find Books on the Shelves
by Emily Pearson Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 180 views this year