Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full Text Historical Magazines
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Now includes periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
More than 460 periodicals published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages and forming an unrivalled record of more than two centuries of British history and culture.
Economist: Historical Archive, 1843–2020 This link opens in a new window
Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
New series that covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An online archive of digitized, full-image journal articles from 215 titles offer unprecedented access to international, scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 2000.
Popular Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Access to the comprehensive collection of Time, Life, Sports Illustrated, US News & World Report, and The Nation.
Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This index of popular-press accounts of U.S. culture and history covers 1890-1982 and contains citations only.
TLS Historical Archive, 1902-2010 This link opens in a new window
Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has scrutinized, applauded and dissected the work of leading writers and thinkers. It has continued into the new century as the only literary weekly – in fact the only journal – to offer comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications, in every subject, in several languages – as well as reviewing current theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions
Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
Explore domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America between 1850-1950 with Trade Catalogues and the American Home. This resource presents a wealth of highly illustrated primary source documents that highlight commercial tastes and consumer trends, and provide a valuable visual record for a breadth of interdisciplinary study.
Women's Magazine Archive Collection This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing.
Digital Books and Magazines
In addition to digital text collections, there are also collections of music and video and the Wayback Machine to find archived versions of web pages.
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books and journals scanned by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. Log in to access the largest number of volumes and features.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |