Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
North American and European Collections
America's Historical Imprints
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. Available here: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.
American Broadsides and Ephemera
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past
This site provides access to nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to non-fiction prose and technical writing from the eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries with a smaller selection of seventeenth-century texts and some medieval and Renaissance texts (1225-1964).
Black Life in America
A new resource for exploring race, equity and diversity. The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the new media, 1976-today.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s
An open access digital collection of publications promoting as well as those opposing white nationalism.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century.
LGBT Thought and Culture
LGBT Thought and Culture provides students and researchers across disciplines a multi-content perspective on the LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. It provides key resources of interest to students and researchers in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history providing access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints
State Papers Online
Provides 17th century British State Papers and links these historical manuscripts to their full text-searchable calendars. Our subscriptions include Part III: The Stuarts: James I to Anne, 1603-1714, State Papers Domestic, and Part IV: The Stuarts: James to Anne, 1603 – 1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland; and Registers of the Privy Council.
This site provides access to over 100,000 high resolution images including manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements from the historical holdings of the Wellcome Library in London. The images have been released under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) licence and can be used free of charge, with an acknowledgement of the original source (Wellcome Library, London).
Historical, manuscript, and image resources that explore women's roles in the US economy from the Open Collections Program, Harvard University 1870-1930
Women Writers Online
Digitized texts by pre-Victorian women writers
Digital Books and Magazines
HathiTrust Digital Library
The HathiTrust Digital contains thousands of public-domain texts.
In addition to digital text collections, there are also collections of music and video and the Wayback Machine to find archived versions of web pages.
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching, and learning in the arts and associated fields.
Dance in Video, Volume I
Films feature many of the greatest dance companies and performers worldwide, including Agnes de Mille, Mark Morris, Lestor Horton, Anna Sokolow, Anthony Tudor, Jose Limon, Paul Draper, and Chuck Green. Also includes an array of rare and hard-to-find archival material, including footage from the George Balanchine Interpreters Archive and Archive of Lost Choreography, and historical footage from Creative Arts Television, featuring dance performances from 1950s and 1960s CBS television productions.
Films on Demand
A streaming video collection that consists of thousands of educational programs in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 73,740 CDs with more than 1,061,100 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.
Naxos Sheet Music Library
Download and print their own copies of sheet music from our catalogue of over 40,000 works.
Watch high-quality films of full-length performances by artists working in dance, theater, music and other fields.
Aluka (Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa)
The struggles for freedom in Southern Africa were both a regional and global phenomenon. As such, documentation of the struggles is scattered around the world, reflecting the history itself: colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Contains primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, including a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Our subscription includes Archive 1: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange; Archive 2: British Politics and Society; Archive 3: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Archive 4: Childrens Literature and Childhood.; Archive 5: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; Archive 6: Corvey Collection of European Literature, 1790-1840; Archive 7: Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Archive 8: Photography; Archive 9: Religion, Society, Spirituality and Reform; Archive 10-11: Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; Archive 12: Women: Transitional Networks.
Smithsonian Collections Online: World’s Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow
Smithsonian Collections Online: World’s Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow gives researchers access to primary source documents about landmark exhibits from 1840 to 1940. With more than 600,000 pages of content, this archive captures the spirit, technology, design, and innovations that influenced the modern world.
Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases. Central repository for finding aids for archival collections at colleges and cultural institutions throughout the western U.S.
Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project
This multi-media web site brings the vital history of Seattle's civil rights movements to life with scores of video oral histories, hundreds of rare photographs, documents, movement histories, and personal biographies
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |