Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Change in Operations
We will make every effort to ensure that students and faculty have access to the information resources they need to complete coursework, finish research, and continue their academic lives whether you are in Walla Walla or elsewhere in the world. Our digital collections are available for use, and reference librarians are available online to answer questions and provide research guidance. We are able to receive digital ILL materials. Find more information on accessing our materials, in person or virtually.
Library Hours: The library is open to students who have been granted summer access, faculty, and staff, 9am-5pm, Monday - Friday.
Archives: The archives will be open by appointment.
Printing: All printing will be handled by WCTS this semester, there will be no printing available in the library.
FACE COVERINGS ARE REQUIRED AT ALL TIMES.
The library will be open to students who have been granted summer access, faculty, and staff from 9am-5pm, Monday-Friday.
You will have to swipe to enter the building, and there is limited capacity, so you may have to wait to enter.
Only the main floor will be open, and you will not be able to browse the stacks. You can request books be pulled at the circulation desk, or continue to use porch pick-up to make requests in advance. Community members can use porch pick-up as well
To Access the Archives (9am-12pm, 1pm-4pm)
1. By appointment only (with 24 hours notice), please call (509) 527-5922 or email firstname.lastname@example.org
2. At your appointment time, wait by the sign inside for your escort.
3. More info on making an appointment and rules of use
Checking out Materials
Penrose Library has two ways to get you the items that you need.
If you are in Walla Walla, you can pick up Penrose items from the library front entrance. Here's how it works:
Porch pickup step-by-step
- Request items for pickup.
- Use Sherlock to search for items, sign-in and use the “request for pickup” link in the Get-It box.
- Wait for email notification.
- Staff will pull your items from the shelf, check them out to your account and bag them.
- You will receive a “ready for pick up” notification by email.
- Pickup is available at the front entrance.
- When you receive notice your items are available, swipe in and they will be on a table in the foyer, alphabetical by last name.
- If you do not have cardswipe access, call 509-527-5192 and staff will bring out bagged items on a cart to the designated area on the library porch. Please wear a mask and take your items once staff have moved out of your way.
Details on how Penrose is meeting WA state Curbside COVID-19 requirements can be found here.
Not in Walla Walla? Remote Mail Delivery Step-by-Step
- Request items for delivery.
- Use Sherlock to search for items, sign in and use the "Remote Mail Delivery" link located next to the item.
- Fill out the mail delivery form.
- Make sure your address is current.
- You will receive an email notification with a tracking number when your item(s) ships.
- We will ship materials in 2-8 business days.
The image below shows where to click for the different delivery request options:
Summit services have resumed as of August 17th. Not all schools in the region are participating, so it might not be as big a variety of resources as you may expect. We will be quarantining books as they arrive so expect a longer delay in receiving notice they are available. We will also be quarantining them once they've been returned so they may stay in your account longer than expected but you will not accrue fines.
Guide to using the library
Special Access to Digital Materials
HathiTrust Digital Library
The HathiTrust Digital contains thousands of public-domain texts. We also have access to digitized versions of around 175,000 books from our print collection. These titles can be found in Sherlock or in Hathitrust. Once you are in Hathitrust, make sure you are logged in. After clicking Login, you will select Whitman as your institution and then use your Whitman ID to log in.
Internet Archive National Emergency Library
The Internet Archive has a collection of over 1.4 million books. You will have to make an account and then you can check a book out for 2 weeks, you may need to wait for the book to be available.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |