Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Basic Keyword Searches
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document
Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search
(Combining search terms with AND, OR, NOT is called Boolean searching. There is an explanation here.)
In the Whitman catalog or MLA database, use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings.
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
You can combine two or more of these techniques to define and limit your search further.
Film Literature Index
The Film Literature Index Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. This is an index, not a full-text database, so you will need to check for online availability of individual articles in Sherlock, and order via Interlibrary Loan if necessary.
International Index to Performing Arts
IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Find recent film reviews in German
Die Tageszeitung (taz)
While many online newspapers charge for access to their archives, you can search from the taz homepage for content from the last 10 years or so and read it free of charge.
The online archive of Die Zeit seems quite comprehensive and does not seem to charge for access. Worth a try for reviews of films in the last 10-15 years.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Formerly LexisNexis.
Readers Guide Retrospective
This index of popular-press accounts of U.S. culture and history covers 1890-1982 and contains citations only.
It will be easiest to find a review of a film if you know the dates when it was produced and released. You can search in Film Index International for your film, to find date of production and release, director, cast, and crew, and selected bibliographies of criticism.
Film Index International
Film Index International indexes films from over 170 countries, ranging from silent movies to blockbusters. It provides information on director, cast, and crew, production and release dates, and includes bibliographic information for selected reviews and other articles.
Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad)
Have you signed up for Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad) so that you can request items, especially articles, from other libraries?
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |