Skip to main content
Basic Keyword Searches
- Joyce AND feminism -- Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document.
- Ulysses OR Dubliners -- Use OR if only one word must appear in a document.
- Joyce NOT Ulysses -- Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search
- deconstruct* -- Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings. For example, deconstructions, deconstructivist, deconstructionism, etc.
- "Wells Tower" -- Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad)
Have you signed up for Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad) so that you can request items, especially articles, from other libraries?
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
If you already have a citation (like from a bibliography or "works cited" page) follow this link to see if Whitman has access to the article you're looking for by looking up the journal title (not the article title).
Find Biographical Information
Dictionary of Literary Biography
The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete provides information on more than 12,000 authors from many time periods and from all parts of the world. This resource provides access to all volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography series (more than 360 vols.), the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series (19 vols.) and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook (23 vols.), totaling more than 400 volumes and 185,000 pages.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |