Skip to main content
To find books, you have three options.
All the local holdings at Whitman, including books, print reference sources, electronic resources, DVDs, and some archival collections.
As of January 2015, Summit searches and requests are available via Sherlock. Use the drop down menu to limit a search to Summit.
Use interlibrary loan if a book you need is not available via Penose or Summit. Check the WorldCat Catalog as well as the Library of Congress Catalog for the most exhaustive searches.
Art, Design, and Architecture
Art, Design and Architecture Collection is a comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with Arts and Humanities Full Text.
Arts & Humanities Full Text
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
International Index to Performing Arts Full Text
IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Subject Headings: A Brief Introduction
Subject headings are a type of controlled vocabulary that identify the subject, or the "aboutness," of a book in the catalog. Use them to find similar titles to books you have already identified as relevant to your research.
This is a record from the Whitman Catalog. If you click on any of the subject headings, you will be taken to a list of other books that share that subject heading. AND, these subject headings are the same accross all library catalogs, so you can use them to search both in Summit or the Library of Congress catalogs to perform exhaustive searches.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |