Skip to main content
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Find Review Articles
Provides a comprehensive synthesis of the research literature for a broad spectrum of disciplines.
Find Environmental Studies Articles
Agriculture, forestry, and animal research 1970-
Birds Of North America
provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
Geology and earth sciences U.S. geology 1785– ; international geology 1933–
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
Search leading scholarly literature in the sciences from 1955- .
Find Environmental Humanities Articles
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (1955- )
America: History and Life
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada (1955-)
Arts & Humanities Full Text
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Find Social Science Articles
An extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy
Environmental Humanities Journals
a peer-reviewed, open-access journal featuring interdisciplinary research on the environment
Journal of Ecocriticism
an open-access, peer-reviewed electronic review of ecocriticism and ecoliterature
a peer-reviewed, open-access journal on the connections and relationship between literature, culture and the environment
a peer-reviewed, open-access academic journal on nature in visual culture
Penrose Library also has access to journals such as Environmental History, Environmental Philosophy, Journal for the Studies of Religion, Nature and Culture, and International Studies in Literature and the Environment through library databases. Environmental Ethics is available in print form in the library.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |