Find Digital Collections - Subject Guide - Gender Studies

Digital Collections

ACT UP Oral History Project
A collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.

American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera from 1760-1900

Digital Transgender Archive
An online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world related to transgender history. (Per the group, "The DTA uses the term transgender to refer to a broad and inclusive range of non-normative gender practices. We treat transgender as a practice rather than an identity category in order to bring together a trans-historical and trans-cultural collection of materials related to trans-ing gender. We collect materials from anywhere in the world with a focus on materials created before the year 2000.")
invisible Histories Project
The Invisible Histories Project is designed to be a repository for the preservation of the history of LGBTQ life first in the state of Alabama and then the entire Southeast. It has currently expanded into Mississippi and Georgia.
Lesbian Herstory Archives
Home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. “Herstories: Audio/Visual Collections” contains digitized copies of some of the 3,000 oral history cassettes in the Archives' Spoken Word Collection and 950 videotapes in the Video Collection.

LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.

LGBTQ History Digital Collaboratory
Growing directory of LGBTQ oral history projects.
LGBTQ Religious Archives Network
A digital archive for global LGBTQ religious movements.

Making of America This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Primary sources including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Collections include Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Childrens Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; Corvey Collection of European Literature, 1790-1840; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography; Religion, Society, Spirituality and Reform; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; Women: Transitional Networks.

NYPL LGBT Collections
Digitized materials from the New York Public Library's archival collections related to LGBT communities in New York.
ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives.
Digitized material from the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world, based at the University of Southern California.
Queer Zine Archiving Project
A "living history" archive of past and present queer zines and to encourage current and emerging zine publishers to continue to create.

Women Working This link opens in a new window
Historical, manuscript, and image resources that explore women's roles in the US economy from the Open Collections Program, Harvard University 1870-1930
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized texts by pre-Victorian women writers